International Metropolis Conference

June 24 to 28, 2019

The Promise of Migration

Inclusion, Economic Growth and Global Cooperation

About the conference

The Department of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada will host the International Metropolis Conference 2019, the largest annual international gathering of world experts from academia, governments and civil society in the fields of migration, integration and diversity. The conference’s program will reflect both Canadian and international strategies regarding immigration, integration, diversity and inclusion.

International migration is at the top of the policy agenda for many countries. The conference will provide delegates from around the world with the opportunity to exchange research and best practices and to forge new partnerships through open dialogue.

The conference takes place in 2 cities in 1 bilingual region. Watch a video to learn more about the National Capital Region. We expect more than 1000 delegates to attend. We encourage you to read the welcome messages from the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship; the Mayor of Ottawa; and the Mayor of Gatineau.

Key dates

  • Registrations: Now open
    Early bird registration closes on
    April 30, 2019

  • Call for proposals:
    Closed

{dnn}

days

{hnn}

hours

{mnn}

minutes

{snn}

seconds

Travel

Air

Air Canada is offering discounts of 15% on fares from anywhere Air Canada flies into Ottawa for the conference. You`ll receive the promotional code after you register. Discounts apply 7 days before and after the event dates and can be booked on the Air Canada website.

Some restrictions apply
  • The travel period begins Sunday, June 16, 2019 and ends Sunday, July 07, 2019.
  • No discount will apply to Tango bookings for travel within Canada or between Canada and the U.S. For International travel (destinations outside North America), discounts apply to all fares including Tango.
  • In order to take advantage of the discounted fares, Event delegates must book their flight at aircanada.com and enter the applicable Promotion Code in the search panel.
  • The Discount is applied to the fare at the time that the travel ticket with Air Canada is purchased. The Discount and the fare are subject to all applicable taxes and surcharges.
  • If the Promotion Code is not entered or is entered incorrectly, the Discounts will not be applied to the booking. The applicable Promotion Code must be recorded on the delegate's ticket by ticketing agencies/airlines.

Train

Via Rail is offering discounts of 10% off the best available fare in Economy, Economy Plus, Business, Business Plus, Sleeper class. This offer is valid from June 17 to July 6, 2019 from all stations thought the VIA system to Ottawa, ON and return. Use the discount code 13852 when booking.

Some restrictions apply
  • Fare applies to a maximum of two passengers per booking.
  • One complimentary stopover is allowed at no additional charge.
  • For travel on all fare plans in Business class, the first stopover is allowed at no additional charge, provided that this stopover takes place in Toronto, Montréal or Ottawa only.
  • Discount does not apply in any Escape fares and Prestige Class.

Entering Canada

Most people need a visa or an eTA to travel to Canada. Some people may only need their valid passport. Answer a few questions to find out what you need to travel to Canada.

Before you book your travel:

Accommodation

We secured rooms at a selection of hotels surrounding the conference venue. There are discounted rates for attendees of the conference until April 30, 2019. After this date, we can`t guarantee availability of rooms or rates.

Hotel Rate Group code Walking minutes from the Shaw Centre
The Westin Ottawa conference venue
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
from $255 book now 1 minute
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, ON K1N 8S7
from $329 International Metropolis Project 4 minutes
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
325 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, ON K1n 7G1
from $249 G-INMC 9 minutes
Le Germain
30 Daly Avenue, Ottawa, ON K1N 6E2
$249 book now 2 minutes
Lord Elgin Hotel
100 Elgin Street, Ottawa, ON K1P 5K8
from $229 190623IMPC 9 minutes
Les Suites
130 Besserer Street, Ottawa, ON K1N 9M9
from $229 167449 6 minutes
Delta Ottawa City Centre
101 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, ON K1R 5T9
from $224 International Metropolis Conference 19 minutes (3 minutes by light rail train)
Ottawa Marriott
100 Kent Street, Ottawa, ON K1P 5R7
from $199 book now 16 minutes (3 minutes by light rail train)
Novotel
33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, ON K1N 9M7
$199 604701 5 minutes
University of Ottawa
90 University Private, room 143
Ottawa, ON  K1N 1H3
from $145 none 11 minutes
Carleton University
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6
from $50 none 28 minutes by transit

The conference takes place during a busy season in Ottawa. We encourage you to book your hotel in advance.

Each room will:

Metropolis project

The International Metropolis Project is the largest international network of researchers, policy makers, and community groups engaged in identifying, understanding, and responding to developments in migration and diversity.

Our events have been effective in connecting researchers, key decision-makers, and practitioners around the globe, facilitating the production and effective communication of policy-relevant knowledge among different stakeholders since the mid-1990s. Our network has steadily developed to include partners in North America, Europe, and Australia, with a growing presence in Africa, Latin America, and the Asia-Pacific region. In a world increasingly characterized by international mobility and large regional displacements, there’s an urgent need to exchange scientific knowledge about migration and diversity, and to share experiences, challenges, and best practices in their management. It’s our goal that our work will enable such dialogue and that our efforts serve the interests of all parties involved in the migration process.

Congrès international Métropolis 2019

Du 24 au 28 juin 2019

Les promesses de la migration

intégration, croissance économique et coopération mondiale

Nous avons reportés la date limite pour l’appel aux résumés au 4 mars 2019.

À propos du congrès

Le ministère de l’Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté du Canada accueillera le Congrès international Métropolis 2019, le plus grand rassemblement international annuel de sommités mondiales en matière de migration, d’intégration et de diversité. Ces experts proviennent de la société civile ainsi que des milieux universitaires et gouvernementaux. Le programme du congrès s’articule tant autour des stratégies de la communauté internationale que de celles choisies par le Canada pour traiter des questions de l’immigration, de l’intégration, de la diversité et de l’inclusion.

La migration internationale se trouve en tête de liste du programme politique de nombreux pays. Pour les participants venus du monde entier, ce congrès constitue une tribune de choix pour partager les fruits de leurs recherches et leurs pratiques exemplaires, et, grâce à ce dialogue ouvert, il leur offre l’occasion de tisser de nouveaux partenariats.

Plus d’un millier de congressistes sont attendus. Nous vous invitons à lire les mots de bienvenue du ministre de l’Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté, du maire d’Ottawa et du maire de Gatineau.

Dates importantes

{dnn}

jours

{hnn}

heures

{mnn}

minutes

{snn}

secondes

Voyagement

Avion

Air Canada offre un rabais de 15 % sur les tarifs des vols en partance de n’importe quelle ville à partir de laquelle le transporteur offre des vols à destination d’Ottawa pour la conférence. Vous obtiendrez le code promotionnel après votre inscription.

Le rabais s’applique 7 jours avant et après la date de l’événement, et il est possible de réserver sur le site Web d’Air Canada.

Certaines restrictions s’appliquent.
  • La période de voyage débute le dimanche 16 juin 2019 et prend fin le dimanche 7 juillet 2019.
  • Aucun rabais ne s’appliquera aux réservations Tango pour des voyages effectués au Canada ou entre le Canada et les États-Unis. En ce qui concerne les déplacements internationaux (destinations à l’extérieur de l’Amérique du Nord), le rabais s’appliquera à tous les tarifs, y compris Tango.
  • Pour bénéficier des tarifs réduits, les délégués participant à l’événement doivent réserver leur vol sur le site aircanada.com et indiquer le code de promotion applicable dans le volet de recherche.
  • Le rabais est appliqué au tarif à l’achat du billet avec Air Canada. Le rabais et le tarif sont visés par les taxes et les suppléments applicables.
  • Si le code de promotion n’a pas été inscrit ou qu’il a mal été saisi, le rabais ne sera pas appliqué à la réservation. Le code de promotion applicable doit être indiqué sur le billet du délégué par la billetterie ou le transporteur aérien.

Train

Via Rail offre un rabais de 10 % du meilleur tarif disponible en classes Économie, Économie Plus, Affaires, Affaires Plus, Voiture-lits. Cette offre est valide du 17 juin au 6 juillet 2019, de toute gare du réseau VIA jusqu’à Ottawa, ON er retour. Utilisez le code promotionnel 13852 lorsque vous faites votre réservation.

Certaines restrictions s’appliquent.
  • Le tarif s’applique à un maximum de deux voyageurs par réservation.
  • Un arrêt en route gratuit est permis sans frais supplémentaires.
  • Pour tous les plans tarifaires de la classe Affaires, le premier arrêt en route est permis sans frais supplémentaires, en autant que cet arrêt ait lieu à Toronto, Montréal ou Ottawa seulement.
  • Le rabais n’est pas valide pour les tarifs Économie évasion et la Classe Prestige.

Autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE) et obligations de visa

La plupart des gens ont besoin d’un visa ou d’une AVE pour se rendre au Canada. Il est possible que certaines personnes aient seulement besoin d’un passeport valide. Répondez à quelques questions pour savoir ce dont vous avez besoin pour vous rendre au Canada.

Avant de réserver votre voyage :

Logement

Nous avons réservé des sections de chambres à plusieurs hôtels situés proche du congrès. Les participants du congrès recevront des tarifs spéciaux.

Hôtel Tarifs Code pour les tarifs Minutes de marche du Centre Shaw
The Westin Ottawa - lieu du congrès (en anglais seulement)
11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa ON K1N 9H4
à partir de 255 $ réserver maintenant 1 minute
Fairmont Château Laurier
1 rue Rideau Street
Ottawa ON K1N 8S7
à partir de 329 $ International Metropolis Project 4 minutes
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
325 rue Dalhousie
Ottawa ON K1n 7G1
à partir de 249 $ G-INMC 9 minutes
Le Germain
30 Daly Avenue
Ottawa ON K1N 6E2
à partir de 249 $ réserver maintenant 2 minutes
Lord Elgin
100 rue Elgin
Ottawa ON K1P 5K8
à partir de 229 $ 190623IMPC 9 minutes
Les Suites
130 rue Besserer
Ottawa ON K1N 9M9
à partir de 229 $ 167449 6 minutes
Delta Ottawa City Centre (en anglais seulement)
101 rue Lyon N
Ottawa ON K1R 5T9
à partir de 224 $ International Metropolis Conference 19 minutes (3 minutes par train léger)
Ottawa Marriott (en anglais seulement)
100 rue Kent
Ottawa ON K1P 5R7
à partir de 199 $ International Metropolis Project 16 minutes (3 minutes par train léger)
Novotel
33 rue Nicholas
Ottawa ON K1N 9M7
199 $ 604701 5 minutes
Université d’Ottawa
90, rue Université privée, bureau 143
Ottawa ON  K1N 1H3
à partir de 145 $ aucun  
Université Carleton
1125 promenade Colonel By
Ottawa ON K1S 5B6
à partir de 50 $ aucun 28 minutes en transport en commun

Comme la conférence se tiendra pendant la haute saison à Ottawa, nous vous recommandons de réserver votre chambre d’hôtel à l'avance.

Réservation des chambres :

Le projet Métropolis

Le projet Métropolis international est le plus grand réseau international de chercheurs, de décideurs et de groupes communautaires qui s’emploient à observer et à comprendre les tendances en matière de migration et de diversité afin d’y réagir.

Nos événements permettent de réunir des chercheurs, des décideurs clés et des praticiens de partout dans le monde, ce qui facilite la production et la diffusion efficace des connaissances pertinentes pour l’élaboration de politiques parmi les différents intervenants depuis le milieu des années 1990. Notre réseau s’est étendu de façon constante et inclut des partenaires en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Australie; sa présence s’accroît en outre en Afrique, en Amérique latine et en Asie-Pacifique. Dans un monde de plus en plus caractérisé par la mobilité internationale et les déplacements régionaux à grande échelle, il est impératif d’échanger des connaissances scientifiques au sujet de la migration et de la diversité, ainsi que de mettre en commun les expériences, les défis et les pratiques exemplaires relatives à la gestion de ces questions. Nous avons pour objectif de faire en sorte que notre travail rende un tel dialogue possible et que nos efforts servent les intérêts de toutes les parties concernées par le processus de migration.